Padma Vibhushan
Anil Kakodkar
Renowned Scientist (Atomic Energy) Date of Birth :
11 November 1943

Anil Kakodkar (born on 11th November, 1943) joined the Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC) in 1964, following the one year post graduate Training with top rank in Nuclear Science and Technology in the then Atomic Energy Establishment. He became the Director of BARC in the year 1996 and was the Chairman, Atomic Energy Commission and Secretary to the Government of India, Department of Atomic Energy, during the years 2000 -2009.He was DAE HomiBhabha Chair Professor at BARC during Jan. 2010-Jan. 2015. Currently he is holding INAE Satish Dhawan Chair of Engineering Eminence at BARC. He devotes his time primarily on issues related to energy, education and societal development.

He obtained his BE (Mech. Engineering) degree from the Bombay University in 1963 and M.Sc. in the Experimental Stress Analysis from the Nottingham University in 1969.

He has been a key contributor to India's strategic programme. He was among the chosen few involved in the first successful Peaceful Nuclear Explosion Experiment that India conducted on May 18, 1974 at Pokhran. And later, he played a key role in the series of successful Nuclear Tests conducted during May 1998, again at Pokhran. India also demonstrated nuclear submarine powerpack technology under his leadership.

He championed observer status for India at CERN (European Centre for Nuclear Research), partnership in the ITER (International Thermonuclear Experimental Reactor) project and exemption for nuclear trade from Nuclear Supplier's Group (NSG) besides several international cooperation agreements in the area of nuclear power, acquisition of Uranium and nuclear research.

A high level committee under his Chairmanship has made comprehensive recommendations for improvement of safety on Indian Railway. Another TIFAC apex group led by him has brought out a Technology Vision 2035. The document was released by Hon. Prime Minister of India during the Science Congress on January 3,2016.

He was Chairman, Solar Energy Corporation in its formative stage. He was also Chairman of Inter University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics ( IUCAA ) during 2006 -- 2012 , Chairman, Governing Board, Inter University Accelerator Centre, New Delhi, and Chairman, Board of Governors of the Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay during 2006-15.

Go Top
Enquire Now
Enquire Now!